KYD Unpublished Manuscript Award

The KYD Unpublished Manuscript Award (KYDUMA) seeks to support writers of adult narrative fiction and non-fiction in the development of their unpublished manuscripts.

All shortlisted entrants receive a week-long  KYD/Varuna Copyright Agency Fellowship, at Varuna, the Writers’ House, in the Blue Mountains. The winner, announced after the fellowship, will also receive a $4000 cash prize.

Entries for the 2020 KYDUMA open on 2 March and close 30 April.

Please note that Submittable is a separate platform to the KYD website, so you’ll need to create a new account there and cannot use your KYD login details.

Please read the full 2020 KYD Unpublished Manuscript Award Submission Guidelines and Terms & Conditions here. (UPDATED 21 APRIL)

The judges for the 2020 award are KYD​ publishing director Rebecca Starford, Picador publisher Mathilda Imlah and KYDUMA 2019 winner Sam van Zweden.

The winner of the 2019 Award was Sam van Zweden (VIC) for her manuscript Eating With My Mouth OpenView the 2019 shortlist. 

The winner of the 2018 Award was Nicole McAlinden (WA) for her manuscript Little Did I Know.

The winner of the 2017 Award was Onyx B. Carmine (VIC) for their manuscript Permafrost.

KYD/Varuna Copyright Agency Fellowship supported by:

Ⓒ 2020 Kill Your Darlings | Privacy Policy

Design by The Company You Keep | Build by Cinch