The KYD Unpublished Manuscript Award was established to support the development of early-career authors, offering them an opportunity to work with industry professionals and assisting them in creating publishing pathways. Now, in its fourth year, the KYD Unpublished Manuscript Award offers more development opportunities than ever.

In 2020 shortlisted writers will be awarded the KYD/Varuna Copyright Agency Fellowship, which includes:

  • 6 nights’ accommodation and all meals at the historic Varuna
  • Intensive and personalised editorial mentoring with KYD publishing director, Rebecca Starford, for the duration of the fellowship
  • Daily workshopping with other shortlisted writers
  • Additional professional development services facilitated by Varuna

The winner of the KYD Unpublished Manuscript Award will also receive a cash prize of $4000.

The judges for the 2020 award are Picador publisher Mathilda ImlahKYD​ publishing director Rebecca Starford and KYDUMA 2019 winner Sam van Zweden.

Please read our 2020 KYD Unpublished Manuscript Award Submission Guidelines and Terms & Conditions here.

To enter, you must have a current full-year (12 months) KYD Membership at time of submission. To subscribe from $32.95, please visit our shop. (Current members with subscriptions of less than one year can contact [email protected] to upgrade their memberships.)


Submissions close at 5pm AEST Thursday 30 April 2020.

Longlisted writers will be announced on Monday 1 June, and shortlisted writers announced on Monday 15 June.

The KYD/Varuna Copyright Agency Fellowship for shortlisted writers will take place from Monday 31 August to Sunday 6 September, with the winner of the KYD Unpublished Manuscript Award announced in late November/early December.

The KYD/Varuna Copyright Agency Fellowship is supported by the Copyright Agency’s Cultural Fund.