KYD New Critic Award

Details on the ​2021 New Critic Award will be released later this year.

This award assists the vocational development of an early-career critic across all artforms.

The winner receives $3000 prize money, consisting of a $1000 cash prize (generously sponsored in 2020 by the Monash School of Languages, Literatures, Cultures and Linguistics) and the publication of a 1-year regular column (at least 5 long-form articles) working closely with Kill Your Darlings editors. Two runners-up will also have their work published in KYD.

The winner of the 2020 New Critic Award is Michael Sun (NSW), with Aimee Knight(SA) and Fiona Murphy (NSW) runners up.

The winner of the 2019 New Critic Award was Cher Tan (VIC), with Kaya Wilson(NSW) and Viv Cutbush (TAS) runners up.

The winner of the 2018 New Critic Award was Kylie Maslen (SA).

The winner of the 2017 New Critic Award was Stephanie Eslake (TAS).

Judges for the 2019 Award were 2019 New Critic Cher Tan, book critic and Monash University lecturer Melinda Harvey, and senior KYD staff.

2020 Award supported by:

Ⓒ 2020 Kill Your Darlings | Privacy Policy

Design by The Company You Keep | Build by Cinch