Congratulations to the inaugural recipients of The Next Chapter writers’ scheme. Presented by the Wheeler Centre with support from the Aēsop Foundation, The Next Chapter awards $15,000 prize money and industry mentorship to a new generation of writers who reflect the diversity of Australian identities and experiences, giving them the time and space to craft a voice and a career. You can read the full list of ten recipients and four highly-commended writers here.

We were particularly delighted to see so many KYD contributors among this year’s recipients! To celebrate their achievement and give you a taste of their work, all KYD pieces from recipients and highly-commended entrants are now unlocked for a limited time!

Congratulations to these and all other recipients – we can’t wait to see what the future holds for you!