The S.D. Harvey Short Story Award is an annual competition organised by the Australian Crime Writers Association (ACWA), with the winner published in Kill Your Darlings. It is part of the prestigious Ned Kelly Awards, celebrating the very best in Australian crime writing.

The award is named after the late writer, journalist and producer Sandra Harvey, who along with her partner in crime writing, Lindsay Simpson, blazed a trail not only for investigative, true-crime writing in Australia, but also for women writers in the industry.

acwa_logoThis year the first prize is $1000, with the runner-up awarded $250. All shortlisted entries will also receive a 6-month membership to Kill Your Darlings.

The shortlisted writers will be announced at the Mudgee Readers’ Festival on 12 August, with the winner presented with their award at the Ned Kelly Awards ceremony.

To read the guidelines and to make a submission, go to the submission page. Entries are open from now until 5pm AEST Friday, 28 July 2017.


Entry is free for all KYD Members and/or ACWA members. For all others, entry is $10.

Good luck to all the crime writers out there!